Following the recent Labour Party leadership election victory by Keir Starmer MP, the new Shadow Cabinet team has been announced. Jonathan Ashworth MP remains in post as Shadow Health Secretary. Rosena Allin-Khan MP steps into the role of Shadow Minister for Mental Health, with Justin Madders MP taking on the brief for public health and prevention, Alex Norris MP taking on patient safety, and Baroness Wheeler the Health spokesperson in the Lords.

Rachael Maskell MP becomes the new Shadow Minister for Civil Society. Oxford East MP Anneliese Dodds MP, who has regularly shown interest in research and the life sciences, becomes Shadow Chancellor. Former Labour leader Ed Miliband MP returns to the frontbench as Shadow Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy Secretary, with Chi Onwurah MP returning in a similar but new role of Shadow Science, Research & Digital Minister.  

Back to e-newsletter