Published: 23 September 2021

Prime Minister Johnson has conducted a reshuffle of Government Ministers over the past week that promotes many backbenchers to junior positions whilst shifting several Secretaries of State. New post-holders of greatest relevance to AMRC members include former Life Sciences Minister George Freeman MP replacing Amanda Solloway MP as the new Minister for Science, Research and Innovation within the Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy.

The Department for Health & Social Care sees the appointments of Lord Kamall as Minister for Innovation and Life Sciences, replacing Lord Bethell; Maggie Throup MP as Minister for Prevention, Public Health and Primary Care; Gillian Keegan MP as Minister for Care, with responsibility for the NHS workforce; and also Maria Caulfield MP as Minister for Patient Safety and Primary Care. In the Treasury, former Minister for Care Helen Whately MP becomes Exchequer Secretary, overseeing R&D and science policy. New Secretary of State for Housing, Communities & Local Government, Michael Gove MP, will oversee the Government’s levelling-up agenda. Nadine Dorris MP has been appointed as Secretary of State at the Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport.