Home Our work Science Communication Awards

Science Communication Awards

Last reviewed 
13 February 2014

The AMRC Science Communication Awards celebrate the best of  AMRC member charities' communication work.

There are five categories: Online and social mediaBest print publicationCommunicating controversial topicsCampaigning and influencingEngaging patients and the public, with one of the five winners chosen as Overall winner.

In addition there are special awards for: Design and Excellence from a smaller charity.

The shortlist

The judges have announced the shortlisted entries in contention for this year's award.

Awards reception and exhibition

We will announce the award winners at a reception at the Whitechapel Gallery on Monday 17 March.

About the awards

Every two years the AMRC Science Communication Awards showcase the best and most innovative of our member charities’ communications work.

Medical research is the UK’s most popular charitable cause, and supporters increasingly want to know how charities spend their money. Patients, their families, and others, look to our member charities for reliable high-quality information about medical research.

For this year’s competition, we are looking for charities that have taken bold and innovative approaches to research communications and tackled controversial topics. The awards will recognise great work to create a conversation between research funders, patients and the public.

2011 winners Great Ormond St Hospital Children’s Charity said of the prizes:

We were delighted to win in two categories. As our commitment to funding paediatric research has grown, so has our need to communicate how this research can leave a lasting legacy. Our Breakthroughs in children’s medicine guide sought to capture this story from the perspective of the people involved in Great Ormond Street Hospital’s 160-year history. The judges’ comments reassured us that our message was clear and accessible to a non-specialist audience.

Entries will be exhibited at our Awards Reception in London on 17 March 2014 and each entry will receive expert independent feedback from our judges.